Tuesday, June 11, 2013

Book Review: "Dead Ever After" by Charlaine Harris

Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse, #13)Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

"Dead Ever After" begins right after "Deadlocked" ended. Sam's recovering from his death and rebirth, Sookie wonders what is happening with Eric, and Eric is still dealing with his marriage contract to Freyda, Queen of Oklahoma. Overall, the book begins on a depressing note that doesn't lift until the very end.

Ms. Harris changes the format of this book, having different chapters narrated by different characters. I like how this lets the reader hear first hand all the intricacies of plot as they happen, as opposed to a second-hand telling afterwards. And intricacies abound here, as various people from the past novels show up, all with one thing in mind - kill Sookie.

(Side note: There are a few "mystery" characters here that I had to look up as I read, because I'd forgotten who these people where.)

The main plot of this book revolves around Sookie discovering who is trying so hard to kill her, and around Sookie trying to sort out her love life. I liked the parts in which Sookie has to defend herself, if nothing else because so many people who Sookie has helped show up to offer her support. It's nice to see how many come together when Sookie needs a hand. I dislike the parts in which Sookie thinks about and interacts with Eric. Considering how much they have been through, how much Eric and Sookie love each other, I found this story dissatisfying.

I must admit, though I've enjoyed reading about Sookie and her adventures, I feel it's time for it to end. Ms. Harris seems to have run out of steam in this universe, and I look forward to reading what she writes next.

View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to agree or disagree, just be polite.

Freaky Friday News: Unicorn Licenses

Los Angeles County Gives a Young Resident a Unicorn License Last month, a resident of Los Angeles county, Miss Madeline, sent a handwritte...